“Fountain’s Pen” enters new phase

December 28, 2010

Etc.

Regular readers of “Fountain’s Pen” (all five of you) may have noticed that after a flurry of posts earlier in December, my output has dropped somewhat. Partly that had to do with the holidays and the attendant drop in newsworthy events.

A more recent and salient factor is that after several months on my own, I recently began a new reporting job at Houston Community Newspapers, specifically the Examiners serving the Bellaire, West University, River Oaks and Memorial areas. I worked for the Examiners once before, in late 2006 and early 2007, before moving on to a large daily in the Houston area.

My hope is to continue writing “Fountain’s Pen” in a fashion adapted to my new circumstances. I will of course have to avoid writing about anything that directly impacts things I cover in my day job. But I also hope to expand the format somewhat beyond the straight reportage that I’ve done since the blog began in September, getting into some perhaps less news-oriented topics. I also hope to incorporate multimedia elements in the blog.

So, we’ll see. As fun as the blog has been, it has served its original purpose:  giving me a platform to continue my reporting and writing interests during a pause in my paid, professional career. But I hope those of you who have enjoyed “Fountain’s Pen” will continue to check in from time to time, and that you’ll like how it evolves.

Happy New Year and Namaste.

RELATED:  What’s this blog about?

Copyright © 2010 Ken Fountain. All rights reserved.

About Ken Fountain

I'm a journalist and writer based in Houston. My areas of specialty include law and courts, local government and industry and environmental issues. You can follow me on Twitter at @twitter.com/kenfountain and email me at kenfountain1 (at) gmail (dot) com.

View all posts by Ken Fountain

Fountain's Pen

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on ““Fountain’s Pen” enters new phase”

  1. Susan Cummings Says:

    Kudos for a well-written and newsy blog and for your commitment to developing it further. And congratulations on the new gig!

    peace and blessings,
    Susan

    Reply

  2. Brandon Says:

    Congrats!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,148 other followers

