A few of my favorite blogs

April 10, 2011

Etc.

It’s a quiet, lazy Sunday morning and I’m going through my bookmarked pages on Microsoft Explorer, switching them over to Firefox. And I thought, hey, why don’t I share some my favorite blogs (especially since I still don’t know how to create my own blogroll on my site.) This is by no means a comprehensive list, and none of these blogs are from the (cue ominous music) mainstream media.

The EastEnder Notes” by Pin Lim, a longtime friend and sometime collaborator from our days at The Daily Cougar. Pin, a great photographer, chronicles the life and culture of Houston’s East End.

Second-Hand Smoak” by Rob Smoak, my good friend, onetime roommate and fellow refugee from a daily newspaper in Southeast Texas. Rob, a great artist, chronicles his adventures as a connoisseur of antiques, old music and assorted other funky collectibles.

Roads Less Traveled” by Tracy Barnett, whom I got to know after we were both let go from another daily newspaper in Houston. Tracy, a consummate travel journalist, is chronicling her adventures traveling in Latin America, which is also the focus of her other venture, “The Esperanza Project.”

JazzStage.Net” by Pete McConnell, another refugee from that same newspaper who is doing great things in spreading the love of jazz in Houston.

Off the Kuff” by Charles Kuffner, who authors probably the best blog focused on Houston politics around.

Greg’s Opinion” by Greg Wythe, an astute watcher of the political scene in Houston and Texas, with an emphasis on data-driven processes like redistricting.

Brains and Eggs” by Perry Dorrell, another Houston political blog with a decidedly and unashamedly liberal bent.

Grits for Breakfast” by Scott Henson, a journalist-turned-political consultant who writes about the criminal justice system in Texas with knowledge, flair and verve.

Life at the Harris County Criminal Justice Center” by Murray Newman, a prosecutor-turned-defense attorney who has very strong viewpoints on his workplace.

Defending People” by Mark Bennett, another Houston defense attorney with a strong point of view (is there another kind?).

Idiotprogrammer” by Robert Nagle (whom I knew in middle school and recently reconnected with while we were both covering the same event). Robert’s “musings on technology and culture” are always well-researched and interesting.

UPDATE:  Kristian Bland, a newly minted fellow refugee from that Southeast Texas newspaper, reminded me of his blog, “Coquetting Terradiddles,” which … well, I’ll let him describe it:  ” is known in some social circles as the best blog ever in history of forever.” See, I told you it wasn’t a comprehensive list.

SECOND UPDATE:  My friend and fellow University of Houston and “Daily Cougar” alumnus, Christian Schmidt, who is now a seminarian student planning to go into the Unitarian-Universalist ministry, writes about religious matters at “A Free Faith.”

Copyright © 2011 Ken Fountain. All rights reserved.

, , , , , , , , , ,

About Ken Fountain

I'm a journalist and writer in Houston, Texas. My areas of specialty include law and courts, local government and industry and environmental issues. You can follow me on Twitter at @twitter.com/kenfountain and email me at kenfountain1 (at) gmail (dot) com.

View all posts by Ken Fountain

Fountain's Pen

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A few of my favorite blogs (via Fountain's Pen) « The EastEnder Notes - April 11, 2011

    […] Ken Fountain’s favourite blogs. They should be yours too. It's a quiet, lazy Sunday morning and I'm going through my bookmarked pages on Microsoft Explorer, switching them over to Firefox. And I thought, hey, why don't I share some my favorite blogs (especially since I still don't know how to create my own blogroll on my site.) This is by no means a comprehensive list, and none of these blogs are from the (cue ominous music) mainstream media. "The EastEnder Notes" by Pin Lim, a longtime friend from our … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

