The Streets of San Antone

May 6, 2013

Travel, Urbanism

I made a quick trip to San Antonio over the weekend for a professional conference. After the sessions were over, I had a couple of hours to spare before an after-conference dinner. I’ve been to the city many times and have been long familiar with the tourist-centered part of the famed San Antonio River Walk that winds through downtown. This time, however, I went in the opposite direction, down the river walk past the Nueces Street Dam that helps keep the river at a constant depth.

I made my way through the stately King William neighborhood, past a former U.S. Armory that now serves as the headquarters of H-E-B grocery store chain, through an older industrial area-turned-burgeoning arts enclave and nearly to one of the Holy Grails of Texas, the old Lone Star Brewery. Here are a few shots I took along the way.

IMG_6253

IMG_6332

IMG_6348

IMG_6367

IMG_6388

IMG_6390

IMG_6402

IMG_6413

IMG_6442

\

IMG_6491

IMG_6506

IMG_6511

IMG_6518

IMG_6531

IMG_6536

IMG_6542

IMG_6562

IMG_6565

IMG_6568

IMG_6588

IMG_6613

IMG_6662

IMG_6666

IMG_6670

IMG_6675

IMG_6677

IMG_6679

IMG_6680

IMG_6682

Copyright © 2013 Ken Fountain. All rights reserved.

, , , ,

About Ken Fountain

I'm a journalist and writer in Houston, Texas. My areas of specialty include law and courts, local government and industry and environmental issues. You can follow me on Twitter at @twitter.com/kenfountain and email me at kenfountain1 (at) gmail (dot) com.

View all posts by Ken Fountain

Fountain's Pen

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

